365 Days Later

365 days ago I started my journey at MSU and it’s been a great experience so far! I’ve learned a lot and thought I’d share 25 of the lessons I’ve learned over the past year as I reflect on my first year as  Spartan.

1) Gucci is not only a fashion designer

2) Team advising, while sounds complex, is a great concept

3) Deuteranopia is green-color blindness

4) M.A.C = M.A.C. NOT Mac

5) Football dictates student activities calendars on Big Ten campuses

6) Leading by example is ten times better than telling someone how to lead

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

7) The use of a good sign or poster can make someone’s day

8) Attendance of 300+ at events is possible

9) Homegrown is a great way to refer to original events created by students

10) Chicago has a hockey team

11) Having to find sponsorships and hosting fundraising events puts a whole new frame of reference for how to budget for an activities office

12) Having support from supervisors and co-workers for professional development is fantastic

13) A campus Union can really feel like the “living room of campus”

14) Assessment, when used, helps SO much

15) Picking your March Madness Bracket by how well you did with interviews at those institutions gets you 3rd place in the tournament 🙂

16) More offices and departments should use Google Docs

17) New Jersey has great pizza

18) Safety and Security Compliance training is a process…a long process

19) It takes effort to reach out and break down silos

20) It takes me 37 minutes to walk from one end of campus to the other

21) Meetings over sushi, ice cream or coffee are the best meetings

22) D.O.S.E. is a concept that every service office should practice

23) Biggby…’nuff said

24) Paperwork increases as you move up the ranks

25) Pandas look great in Green and White

Brian 4

Until next time!

Peace Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Higher Education/Student Affairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

