Prepping for #ACPA15

Like many of my friends and colleagues across the Student Affairs and Higher Ed world, I am getting my presentation ready for #ACPA15.

As a first time presenter I’m a bundle of excitement, nerves, energy and anxiety. I’m trying to read all the blogs that offer tips to conference presenters and talking to many friends and colleagues for insights into their best practices.

But as I’m reading through the plethora of helpful hints and talking to friends and mentors, I’m realizing that what might be best for me is finding my own way to prep for #ACPA15. So I thought I’d share with you my journey in getting ready for my first presentation. 🙂

Prep 1: Being Me

I wanted to be sure that when I look at my presentation in the room I smile and remember to be me and enjoy my experience. I tried to make sure that my presentation is all me. I think I accomplished that because one of my friends who reviewed it said that the minute they looked at it they knew it was my presentation. I used fun colors, fun fonts and awesome baby animal photos, which if you know me, I’m overly dedicated to.

Prep 2: Prepping Early

I started creating my presentation back in December right after I learned I had been accepted. I worked a little on it each day over the next few months. It allowed me to be relaxed and take my time on the content and how I wanted the flow of the program to work. It also allowed me the ability to really edit like crazy these last two weeks and let my friends and mentors review it as well. As a newbie presenter I felt that I wanted to be over prepared on the presentation so that when the random quirks and problem arise I won’t be stressed over those and my presentation.

Prep 3: Know That I Am Not All Knowing

I think one of the biggest things is making sure I’m going into this as a conversation and a method of sharing information. I’m not an expert nor will I ever be on any on topic, including my presentation for this week. But I know that I am a solid facilitator and that I can facilitate a conversation where we all learn best practices, suggestions and receive mutual support in our work.

Prep 4: Technology Anticipation 

I have all Apple devices and I know that my biggest day-of worry is that my presentation won’t work because my technology won’t sync. (There are too many horror stories with Apple products to make me feel any comfort) So I may have had Michael, my parter go overboard on getting me adapters, but I have pretty much any Apple adaptor any human being might need. (So any friends or colleagues that might need to borrow an Apple adapter during #ACPA15 let me know :))

Presentations

Also, cause I know you were wondering, below are the details on my presentation if you’re free this Saturday and in Tampa:

  • Keep Rolling in Spite of the Agendas

Convention Center-Room 35

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Saturday, March 7, 3:30 PM-4:30 PM

Personal and professional agendas are implemented as office, department or institutional initiatives often in higher education. however services, education and development of the students and professionals must continue in spite of these agendas. This program will take real life based scenarios to provide context in which to discuss best practices in order to prioritize and continue said education for the students and professionals. 

I will also be supporting a powerhouse of bloggers via the Twitters for their program Saturday morning:

  • #SAwrites: Professional Development Through Blogging in Student Affairs

Courtesy of Paul Gordon Brown

Courtesy of Paul Gordon Brown

Marriott Tampa Waterside – Florida Salon V

Saturday, March 7, 8:00 AM-9:00 AM

Social and digital technologies allow everyone to put their ideas out into the world. Blogging and establishing an online presence are an excellent way to engage in professional conversations and idea generation throughout the year.  In this session, a panel of bloggers at various stages of experience will share their thoughts about the what, how and why of blogging and how you can start or enhance your own writing.

#SAWrites Program Website: http://paulgordonbrown.com/2015/03/03/acpa15-naspa15-presentation-sawrites-blogging-in-student-affairs-and-higher-education/#1

Courtesy of NaQuaina Moore

Courtesy of NaQuaina Moore

Finally, a HUGE shoutout to the amazing Carly and my awesome #EMUEDLD HESA Peeps Adriana, Greta, Kelli, and NaQuaina for reviewing and helping me with everything!

Until next time! (IN THE SUN AND WARMTH OF TAMPA, FL!!)

Peace, Love and Panda!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Higher Education/Student Affairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

