YOLO: Apologize with Abandon. Love Fearlessly.

As like many #SAPros, I read Stacy L. Oliver Sikorski’s freaking fantastic post on studentaffairsfeature.com, Hold On To The Good Ones.  I think my tweeted response to her about her post was along the line of “I can’t give you enough snaps!”

Reading through her post there were so many great points, but one stuck out to me, and I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind. Fifth line from the end of the post, there are five words; “Apologize with abandon. Love fearlessly.”

We are always looking to be the perfect student affairs professional, partner, friend, advisor, and human. We hate to make mistakes or make problems bigger. We want to be the fixers. We want to be the experts. We want to be the teachers. We want to be leaders. We want to be the ideal professional and person. What we want is unachievable.

We can’t be perfect. We will make mistakes. We will make problems worse than better. We will be required to learn and be the student. We won’t always be able to teach some. We won’t always be able to save everyone. We will need to apologize often, acknowledge where we need improvement and know that we won’t be able to fix everything.

This does not make us weak. This doesn’t make us bad professionals, partners, friends, etc. What it makes us is human. And what we CAN do as humans is love unconditionally and fearlessly.

scrapbookoftruth.net

scrapbookoftruth.net

Embrace your teachers. Embrace your students. Embrace the people who annoy you. Give snaps to people who are experts in a topic. Give snaps to people who are learning. Love those who make mistakes. Love those who hurt others. Give props to those who ask questions. Give props to those who try whether or not they succeed or fail. Love, forgive, learn and grow.

Life is too short for us to fester in misery. It’s too precious to try to out do each other. It’s too valuable to focus on over compensating intellect and insight to be noticed. It’s not worth holding grudges and not apologizing due to stubbornness or fear of looking weak.

Don’t be afraid to apologize, to acknowledge that you may not know everything or are not able to help. Be honest, open and share the imperfections just as much as you share your moments of perfection.

From now on, I know I will try more to Apologize with Abandon and Love Fearlessly.

Shout out to the amazing Stacy L. Oliver Sikorski for a thought-provoking and rejuvenating post that inspired my ponderings! Check her out at @stacyloliver.

Until next time

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Higher Education/Student Affairs, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

