Growth Reading

There are so many benefits to blogging. And lately, I’ve come to embrace a benefit that I thought I would dread: Re-reading my blog posts.

Over time, I’ve come to realize that one of the best things about blogging is being able to see and read how much I have grown over time. Now, I’m not talking about the statistics and the ability to track and assess your growth through the number of followers or likes of your posts, though those are great tools of measurement. I’m talking about seeing how, I, a blogger, have developed my writing, my tone, and the life my writing has naturally taken on over time and how I have grown as a person and professional because of it.

For me, reading back through my posts is a bit embarrassing and awkward. I’m just not a person to baste in the glory that is Brian (though for the record, the Brian Glory is pretty fabulous if I do say so :)) and my F (Feeling) really comes through at times so I realize how personal some of my posts are.

However, over the past few months I’ve challenged myself to read back through my previous posts. And I’m glad I did, because I’ve noticed significant growth and change in myself. Not only in my writing skills such as grammar and format (Dr. Thum, my UM-Flint Honors professor would finally be able to give me a LARGE stamp with 3 pluses!!), but also the content and the tone.

Over the past year and a half, since I launched my blog, my content has finally settled into specific areas. They are a bit different than what I had originally thought I would write about, but I think that’s part of the learning process of oneself as a blogger.

I think that I can summarize many of my posts into one of three areas: 1) tips/hints and best practices for social media that any student, new professional or even seasoned professional could take on 2) my opinions on topics that I am passionate about such as civil rights issues and higher education and 3) sharing my life with readers.

I’ve noticed that when something is troubling me, I blog, and that seems to be how I process and help make meaning out of life, society, my profession and personal interests. I also realized that most times I rarely share answers but rather more questions to contemplate and don’t always have a moral or lesson to share. I think that’s my way of processing and opening myself to broadening my perspectives and understandings.

Also, as I have read back through my posts, they have become more confident and honest. It’s not easy blogging and it requires a person to be open to support AND criticism by the online world. And I think the topics and stories I have shared have grown in depth and meaning as I have grown in competence and confidence in my blogging.

My original purpose for blogging was intended to brand myself in particular ways. Rather it has become a way for me to share, engage and process life. And until reading through my previous posts, I never realized the transformation I, and my writing, have undergone in the past year and a half.

So, while re-reading previous posts can be a bit awkward and uncomfortable, it has been a great experience to be able to see myself grow. If you don’t already, I suggest you re-read through your previous posts and see what growth you can see in yourself.

Until next time,

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

