Foto Friday: Happy Birthday America!

This week’s Foto Friday is one of my absolute favorites. It even comes with a tag line: Happy Birthday America!

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Some of my BFFs and I went to spend one 2009 evening up in Bay City for the big 4th of July Fireworks Grand Finale show. It was a blast. As I was struggling through the middle of my coming out process at this time, it felt great spending time with people I felt safe, comfortable and knew who loved me for my awesome self 🙂

Laura is the sweetheart in yellow. She is the most real person you will ever find. She says how it is and whats on her mind because her philosophy is life is to short (She invented YOLO, just FYI). She goes after what she wants and always does her best and she’s always there for her friends and family. And the best part is that she knows the best places for…WINGS!

Amanda (#1) is the young lady in the middle. Tall, graceful and one of the most intelligent people I know. She loves living life and taking chances, and lives to enjoy life. She’s a strong individual who I admire immensely. She also dances a mean Michael Jackson “Beat It” routine that she busts out every now and again. 🙂

Finally, there’s Amanda (#2). The beautiful woman on the end in ponytails. I nicknamed her “wife” because she and I have had many a year of ups and downs and I don’t think there’s a secret between us…which is scary that she hasn’t stopped being my friend. But she has a heart of gold. She embraces life, love, and humanity and with the whisk of her Disney princess wand (and she has several) she is always there for you in a tough time. And as a bonus, she is a great photographer and photos graphs everything…including talking parrots that dance to Michael Jackson music.

Courtesy of googleimages.com

Courtesy of googleimages.com

So here are the three fabulous ladies that I am with in this photo. Laura is kicking butt working the Emergency Department in Detroit, Amanda (#1) is being a rockstar with an entertainment company in Detroit and Amanda (#2) is being a fabulous health education teacher in Saginaw. I don’t get to see them often, but I know they are always there if I need them and vice versa.

Until next time

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Foto Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

