Veteran’s Day is About the People of the Military

Over the past few years I’ve been having some heated conversations about the military with friends, family and colleagues. These have been everything from having presences in other nations and countries to the military budget to gun control to militia to how the military leads to nationalism and so many more topics.

For the most part, I can be pretty balanced in hearing out other sides, and allowing everyone to share their opinions and perspectives (I credit my Includer for that). I do learn a lot which helps me to make my own opinions and perspectives, but I will admit that I struggle with those who are not able to step outside of their views and at the very least acknowledge those individuals who serve. Actually it pisses me off.

To me, Veteran’s Day is not about supporting the military as an entity or military movements at the time. To me it’s about supporting the people of the military and their families.

Yes, we can all admit that in a perfect world we wouldn’t even need a military, however we live in an imperfect world where human decisions and human agendas rule our lives. Like everything else the military is not perfect. And I say, let’s debate and have those conversations about why we think that the military is good or bad, perfect or imperfect, whether there is overspending or it needs more money. But why do we drag the people into that debate? Putting the people up on the chopping block and criticizing them for serving is unfathomable to me. If we make the people the organization and not the organization of people then we’re losing our humanity and what is there left to fight for then?

Courtesy of thevalentinesdayquotes.com

Courtesy of thevalentinesdayquotes.com

So, to my brother, Phil, cousins Christina, Gary, Becky, the plethora of aunts and uncles and other family members and friends, and all my Kappa Sigma Brothers who have served or are serving; I love you all and thank you!

Until next time

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

