Foto Friday Oldest Photo on Facebook

So today, I thought I’d share with you the oldest photo of me on Facebook which ended up being from January of 2006:

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

This was a photo taken at my fraternity chapter’s kickoff Winter Mixer event back in the beginning of 2006. Joining me in this epic photo are my good friends Rob O’Neal and Erin Numerick Willard. Rob was rushing at the time and Erin was basically our Chapter Sweetheart back then.

Now, the memories of our friendship and good times was nice to reminisce over, however, the best part of this photo was seeing our rush campaign shirts that ended up being one of the best campaigns we did as a colony. The ASK ME/ASK HER Campaign.

The way our campaign worked was that we asked any willing sorority members and close female friends to wear “ASK ME” shirts, while we, the chapter brothers wore “ASK HER” shirts. They were plain white shirts with plain black writing. If a guy on campus asked us who is “her” we’d refer him to one of the ladies wearing the “ASK ME” shirts. Now, all of our female campaign participants carried information about our fraternity and whenever a guy would ask them what the shirt was about or what they were suppose to ask them, the young ladies would give our Rush information to the inquiring young man. We had some of our largest rush numbers when we ran this campaign during our colony days.

For those chapters reading this, please feel free to try out this campaign. It’s definitely a great campaign.

Also by looking at the photo, you can tell my style has improved immensely since my undergrad days…ugh just look at that shirt and my hair…:/

Anyway, a blast from the past, and a little history of my chapter at the University of Michigan-Flint. Hope you enjoyed it!

Until next time

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Foto Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

