It Takes A Village

It’s been real #EMUEDLD HESA, but it’s time for me to move on and join the leagues of amazing Student Affairs Professionals and really jump back into the trenches.

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

I can’t believe this day has come. For years I was told to go get my Master’s, and I kept putting it off. However, the day has come! And I wouldn’t have been on this journey nor succeeded if it weren’t for such a FANTASTIC support group! So this post is for YOU and all of those who have supported and helped me along the way these past few years:   Jessie L. Hurse, II: The man who first got me involved on campus AND in the Student Affairs field. (so, now you know who to blame for me being in the field 🙂 ) He got me involved as an Undergraduate and then offered me a position soon after graduation. Through the good, the bad, and the ugly, and believe me there was a ton of each, I’ve looked up to him and a friend and mentor.   Sara Frees: The co-worker and collaborator who eventually convinced me to get my Master’s degree, and also put me onto Eastern Michigan’s program (so now you know who to blame for my selecting EMU over other schools 😉 ) She was the one to listen to all of my drama day in and day out and still helped me out. She’s one of my most influential role models.

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Adriana Facundo, Allison Gallardo, and Ben Bellanger: The three best group members a person could ask for! They were also some of the first people I met in the HESA program at EMU. From Intro to Higher Ed, to Intro to Student Affairs to Policy and Law in Traverse City, and all of the other classes we’ve had together, we endured, supported and survived with each other! Even when one was missing we always had a substitute (i.e. Backpack Ben!). Gonna miss every single one of these crazy three but, they are gonna be badass #SAPros!

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Cathy Plawecki, Connie McComb-Brown, Andy George, Brittany Johnson, Drew Steding, Joshua Rumley, Stephanie Chastain, David Humphrey: These are some of the BEST co-horts in the world! From classes, to wineries, to life happenings, and even post-class wind-downs, these guys surrounded me with some of the BEST and most ENLIGHTENING conversations ever. They were the ones to put those extra layers to life and the field that have helped me get such a great and deep insight into Student Affairs.

Board

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Cody Bailey, Greta Adornetto, NaQuaina Moore, Adriana Facundo, Kelli Dowd, Dr. Raul Leon: Meet the baddest, best-est, awesome-est,leaders EVER. These guys gave me the experience of a life, by being able to work with them on our HESA Student Organization Leadership Board. The depths of the experience and lessons learned from them can’t be put into words. I got to know them and vice versa on so many levels, that it’s crazy. If I had an ideal office team, it would no doubt include each and everyone of them.   Dr. Elizabeth Broughton: Dr. B has been an absolute key player in my success and experience at EMU. She’s reviewed and endured my resume more times than any person should ever and helped me get my professional self in order. She’s also been a key supporter in my foray into social media and all of the professional conferences and opportunities that I have undertaken. She’s also been a great faculty member and never enjoyed my classes more than when I had her as an instructor as well.

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Michael Hercliff: What can I say? He’s the best partner ever. He’s endured a lot over the past two years…basically my craziness…and he’s STILL AROUND!…Yep, he’s definitely a keeper 😉 Also, congratulations to my love for graduating with his Masters of Science in Urban Planning today as well! 🙂

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Erika Trigg, Floyd Pouncil, Nick Weldon: These are some of the student leaders who survived having me as an advisor and still decided to enter the Student Affairs professional. They are some of the most significant inspirations to me. They are also some of the best Future #SAPros in the world and are a constant reminder of why I work with students. The lessons they taught me ad continue to are invaluable and I’ll treasurer my time with them as students/advisor, but look forward to our future as #SAPro colleagues!

BFFs2

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

BFFs

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

My Utah “Family”, Awkward Animal “Family”, UM-Flint Family, Kappa Sigma Family, Tiffany, Tash, Luskey, HJohn, Mom, Dad and Brother: These were the ones to keep me inspired, in line and grounded while I was on this graduate school journey. They gave me support and encouragement to keep plugging along to get to this point. I love you all and thanks!

#SAChat

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Last but not least the #SAChat Peeps! I owe this phenomenal community a big thanks for opening up my knowledge, experience and professional support base. They’ve taught and challenged me that there is a world larger than my undergraduate institution and that it is all about ideas, theory, possibilities, opportunities, and adventures! So thank you! Congratulations to ALL OF YOU for helping me to get this degree! We’ve done it!

Until next time! Peace,

Love and Pandas

Brian D. Proffer, M.A.

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Higher Education/Student Affairs, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

