First Foto Friday!

So I thought I’d share my life even more with you each Friday and begin a “Foto Friday” Post.

To kick it off, I figured I’d share this random photo from my undergrad days. I found this gem while trying to organize my files on my laptop last weekend.

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Now, not many know this, but I worked at abc12 in Flint, Michigan for the better part of my undergrad days. My BFF, Candace (the foxy lady, third from the left) had started working there and as a fellow Communication major, she helped me get a studio crew position. They had just launch the brand new Saturday Morning Weekend show the week before I began with a few newbie anchors 😉 and were in the midst of revamping their Sunday morning shows, hence needing more crew and me acquiring a position. While the rush of live television, breaking news, and the randomness that only live television can provide, the best part was the people at the station.

Our weekend crew become a tight little group and pretty awesome at getting those weekend morning shows out in mostly decent shape :).

As far as the photo, it was just after one of our shows, and we decided that a random group photo would be a great idea.We didn’t have everyone in it,but you can see the core of our weekend morning crew:

Jerry, the silver fox on the left, was the director for one of the shows. He made me fall in love with Houghton Lake, a place found in the northern part of our beloved Mitten State. Anytime an anchor would read a story about Houghton Lake, he would promptly say “Houghton Lake??…Wish I were there!” He was a hardass when it came to his show, but we always had a blast.

Candace, my BFF, and the third from the left, was basically like the mother of the group. I think at that point in time she was more responsible than the rest of us combined at times. She was also probably the glue that’s kept all of us in touch and informed of each of our lives after we all left the station.

Miss. Julia Chan, the lovely lady in front of me was probably the best thing that happened to the show. She was one of the rock star producers in the studio and she kinda saved our butts more than a few times during a few shows…OK,every weekend saved our butts. She even made a few on-camera appearances when she  would literally throw updated info to Kirk or Shannon.

Ryan, the extremely tall guy next to Candace was the quirky yet surprisingly smooth fella who worked in the back and made appropriate judgements over the headsets as the show went on. There was never a dull show with Ryan around.

THE Kirk Yuhnke, (Hey I spelled it right!) Kirk was probably the most adept to the morning show and kept us in line…mostly. Though his techy side was constantly coming out and we had some crazy technology segments. In fact, if my memory serves me right, he’s the reason why Candace and I first got on Facebook and MySpace, to check out the social media platforms that were on a rise (but weren’t expected to go anywhere). That was back when Facebook required a college email hence why Candace and I sat on Facebook and MySpace half the time of our shifts for a few weeks 🙂

Steve, the short and dashing guy on Ryan’s left, is one of my oldest friends from…well elementary. He joined up a few months after the Saturday morning show launched. His witty,dry, and sarcastic commentary was the cherry on the top amongst all of our combined personalities. He and Ryan constantly went back and forth over the head sets. Hilarity ensued, and so did a few missed cues and camera positions because of their shenanigans.

Ms. Shannon is next, sitting next to Kirk. She was the perfect anchor partner for Kirk. When he was off, she was on and vice versa. Their banter back and forth was second to none…even when it randomly stopped mid-conversation cause they forgot where they were going with it.

Then there was Matt. He came to us as an innocent yet ambitious young undergrad. Then he met us… But he soon proved he was a force to be reckoned with. Before he moved on to bigger and better, he was the best teleprompter we had. Seriously, when he wasn’t there to run the thing, chaos always seemed to ensue. I think he possessed it or something so when he wasn’t there we’d appreciate him more.

And finally, we come to Kevin Goff. What can I say about Kevin? Quirky, intriguing and the weather guy. His stories and antics in the studio were sometimes awkward, some times strange but always hilarious.

I would be a missed if I didn’t recognize three other individuals who did not make the photo, but were part of our crew over the years. First we have Stephanie Richards, a producer, who is now Ryan’s fiance (yey! who says you can’t find love at work?).Next we have the freaking AWESOME Shawn Williams, studio director of one of the many morning shows. She was infamous for her humor, laugh and phrase “What purpose do you serve??” (more often said when the anchors didn’t pay attention to the cues, or if we forgot to cue the anchors :P). Last but definitely not least, Ms. Leslie Lobue, the classy dame of our weekend shows who was the freaking biggest and sweetest of them all to work with.

So there you have it, my first Foto Friday Post. A post about a group of crazy people they let put on weekend shows for a few years. You can currently find Kevin and Leslie still rocking it out at our origins at abc12 in Flint, Michigan. Julia is a Video Journalist for CNN in Atlanta, Georgia, Matt is in Omaha, Nebraska at WOWT 6 News reporting and anchoring, and Kirk is currently becoming famous in Denver, Colorado as a co-anchor for Good Day Colorado at FOX 31 KDVR with another Flint peep the AMAZING Lisa Giles Shubel.

All I can say to close is:”Who’s picking up Olympic breakfast today?”

Until next time!

Peace, Love and Pandas!

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

Courtesy of Brian D. Proffer

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Foto Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

