Liebster Award

theinspiredtreehouse.com

Courtesy of theinspiredtreehouse.com

This weekend, I was honored with being nominated for my first Liebster Award! I was nominated by the fabulous Nichole who authors UpBeat UpLifts, which is an insightful, positive, and life affirming blog.

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is an award which exists via the internet and is given to bloggers by other bloggers. It is specifically for beginning bloggers. It helps people get to know them better and then allows them the chance to share the love with fellow beginning/smaller bloggers!

The rules for the award are as follows:
1) Create a post and answer the 11 questions the tagger set for you.
2) Nominate 11 people and link them in your post.
3) Create 11 questions for them.
4) Let them know they have been nominated.
5) No tag backs!

So, enjoy my answers to Nicole’s Questions, and make sure you check out my nominees and their awesome blogs at the end!

1) What things do you do in you spare time?
I love to spend time with my partner, Michael and hanging out with my family and friends. I also enjoy watching movies and TV Shows. Currently I’m stuck on Desperate Housewives, Once Upon A Time and Scandal. Finally, I love to cook. Let me tell you, the number of cook books I own is growing exponentially, and I normally spend my weekends trying new recipes out on Michael.

2) What types of posts are your favorite to read?
I really enjoy reading life affirming and positive blogs of blogs on social media and LGBT Issues and stories. I think its important to continually surround yourself with positive and uplifting activities and reading such blogs is a great way for perspective, insights and positive affirmations on life. I’m a bit obsessed with Social Media, and so I’m always looking for the new platform, practice or hottest tip to improve my social media usage. As far as LGBT Blogs, I’m always looking to stay current on the LGBT movement and hearing personal stories of individuals.

3) What is your favorite movie?
My favorite movie is Aladdin. I think it’s one of Disney’s BEST movies. I is well done, beautiful animation, and amazing music. Besides, I enjoyed running around my house when I was little pretending to be Aladdin and singing a Whole New World to everyone.

4) Where have you visited that you liked most?
I’ve traveled a lot in my almost 30 years (eeks) but i think one of the best places I’ve visited is Estes Park, CO. I spent 2 summers there for a job I had in college, and just fell in love with the small town. It can be touristy, but the people are friendly, and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. It was also the last place I really enjoyed myself those few years before confronting my sexual orientation identity, which for a time sent me down a path of poor decisions and loneliness.

5) What are three things you cannot live without?
I cannot live without my iPhone, violin, and car.

6) What is your favorite color?
Currently my favorite color is red. It tends to change with my life phases.

7) Which social media is your go-to?
Oh, Nicole, this is such a Panda Question: Twitter is my go-to platform. Facebook is next, followed by Instagram.

8) What is your guilty pleasure?
My guilty pleasures are chocolate.There is no such practice as “one piece of chocolate” to me.

9) Which TV/movie character do you relate to best?
I relate the best to the conglomeration of the FRIENDS characters. I see a bit of myself in each one of them. My Type A Personality is completely Monica, my quirky mischievous traits are definitely Phoebe, my awkward clutsy side is 100% Chandler, my child-like traits are Joey and my emotional side is pure Rachel.

10) Who is your role model?
I have many role models. I look at my parents are individuals who have persisted and striven for what they have accomplished in life. I look to some of my faculty and former supervisors as role models for me in my profession. I look to fraternity brothers as role models of leadership and innovation and I look to friends as role models of compassion, strength and inspiration.

11) What is your favorite quote?

My favorite Movie Quote:  From The Emperor’s New Groove”

[Kuzco and Pacha are tied to a tree branch floating in a river]
Pacha: Uh-oh.
Kuzco: Don’t tell me. We’re about to go over a huge waterfall.
Pacha: Yep.
Kuzco: Sharp rocks at the bottom?
Pacha: Most likely.
Kuzco: Bring it on.

My favorite Life Quote: From Confucius
Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”

And those are 11 answers to 11 questions.

I don’t follow whole lot of new bloggers, however I do follow some amazing blogs, so I’m going to nominate some of the newest bloggers I follow and some of the best bloggers I follow:

Justin Shanlian
Alaina Weins
Josh Kohnert
Melissa Boles
Kelly Vanderwell
Jared Juetten
Kayla Cornell
Daniel and Mari
Amy Jorgensen
Niki Messmore
Sean Eddington

 ^^check them all out^^

Your questions are:
1) Why did you start your blog?
2) What is your favorite childhood memory?
3) What is your favorite movie?
4) Where would the perfect vacation be?
5) What is your favorite snack?
6) Name 3 qualities of find important to you in a friend.
7) Which social media is your go-to?
8) Who is your celebrity crush?
9) Which TV/movie character do you relate to best?
10) What is your favorite movie quote?
11) What’s your dream job?

Good luck! Remember to share the love with new bloggers you know!

Until next time!

Peace, Love and Pandas
About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liebster Award

  1. Melissa Boles says:

    Well gosh, Brian, thanks so much! This means a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

