2nd Year Advice

Its a little crazy that just a little over a year ago I was in my orientation for my grad program. A lot has happen in 12 short months, but I wouldn’t change anything. I’ve grown personally and professionally, and have met so many new and amazing individuals. Part of my success was the advice from the 2nd year grads in the program as well as those that I met in places such as #SAChat. So, I thought I’d pay it forward and offer up some bits of wisdom for the incoming students of Higher Education and Student Affairs.

Be Open

Be open to new ideas, new information and opposing view points. And definitely be open to meeting TONS of new people. Only if you are open, will you really become a well rounded and reflective practitioner.

It Is What You Make Of It

This is grad school. Things are not going to be handed to you on a silver platter any more. You need to take advantage of whatever opportunity comes your way. Put yourself out there and try new things and meet new people.

Become Involved

Whether it’s a GA position, Internship, Volunteering gig, or whatnot, become involved beyond the duties of the position. Reach out to the veterans and different group in your office/organization and learn what they do and who they are.

READ AHEAD!!

If you can read your texts and assignments ahead of time, you’ll find grad school much easier. Even if you can’t read every word, but can skim the texts, and at least know the general gist of the content will help you immensely.

Get To Know Your Co-Hort

You will spend a lot of time (And I mean ALOT) with members of your co-hort and they will become some of your best resources for your future positions. So, you might as well get to know them and build that awesome relationship. (Shout out to the EMU HESA CoHort! Woot Woot!)

Get To Know Your Faculty

You will find the faculty are there to help you along the journey, and that they are awesome. They are also some of the best resources to help you locate jobs, GA positions and internships.

Get Ready To Join The Family

Student Affairs is honestly a family. Rarely if ever will you find a Student Affairs Professional who will not help you out or provide you with advice. It’s a small and tight knit group of individuals.

Just some random thoughts of advice for the newbies. 🙂

Until next time!

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Higher Education/Student Affairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

