Random Act of Kindness Challenge

Yesterday morning, I went to Starbucks before the #SATechMI UnConference. And while there, I witnessed what I call a “warm fuzzy” moment that I feel should be shared.

So, there I was standing in the Starbucks line, getting ready to get my yummy frappucino for the day, when my ADHD kicked in and I began to people watch those that were in line with me. Now, right in front of me, was an odd chatty pair. This pair was comprised of a middle-aged woman and a young man, who was probably about 20 years old or so. The woman was in a professional pant suit and the young man was in faded jeans, a dirty ripped sweatshirt with a torn backpack and cardboard sign in his hands. The combination struck me a bit strange, so what did I do?…I eves-dropped.  (I know it wasn’t polite but I was intrigued.) What I found out surprised and impressed me. This is what my “sluthing” uncovered:

While walking to Starbucks, the woman had come across the young man. He was homeless, and had just woken up from wherever he had slept the night before. When she had come across the young man and his cardboard sign out next to him, she had invited him to join her at Starbucks so she could buy him breakfast. However, the most interesting thing about this was not that she invited him inside so she could buy him breakfast, but that she also was talking to him. She wasn’t judgmental or trying to make him feel bad about his situation, but rather being genuine in getting to know him.

Eventually the pair received their drinks and food and went on their way, but it got me thinking. We, as society, are so busy and so focused on “me” that we no longer seem to care about our fellow man. Simple things like holding the door open for the person behind you, helping an elder out to their car, or even helping someone pick up change they may have dropped hardly ever happens, and when it does occur, it really surprises us. In addition, when we have the chance to get to know the person we may help, we tend to let it slip through our fingers.

For some reason this has been creeping into my thoughts over the past few weeks, but yesterday seemed to really tie all my thoughts and musings together. The woman really made me think about my actions and if I help my fellow man like I should, and how often I do random acts of kindness for people. This “warm fuzzy” really put some things into perspective for me.

It’s nice to know that there are still people who are willing to take a risk and help out another person. Not for the attention or what they could get in return, but because its the right thing to do. To take a risk and help another person out, with no strings attached and no judgements attached is hard and can be scary, but maybe it’s the step we should take to become a better society and more important a better person. So I challenge you to join me in trying to do more acts of kindness as this woman did for this young man. Let me know how it goes!

Until next time!

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random Act of Kindness Challenge

  1. Pingback: Helping hand ~ Random Acts Of Kindness | Journey Through Recovery

  2. theodorelind says:

    At my local coffee shop (Populace Cafe in Bay City – AMAZING) I always donate back my frequent buyer cards as pay it forward cups. Awesome concept and I wish there was more of it.

Leave a Reply

