Hello World, Its Me, Brian

I never really know how to start one of these introductions. All the catchy phrases seem to be taken and it just seems so formal and cold to just give the information and nothing else. So to make it interesting, I figured I’d summarize me, and my life thus far (in no chronological order), with some of my favorite movie quotes.

“I have no bird. I have no bush. God has taken my bird and my bush.” – Bruce, Bruce Almighty.

At age 25, I came out to my parents. It was not the easiest time in my life. Nor were the years leading up to my decision to identify as a gay man. At times it felt like everything had been yanked from me. I made a lot of mistakes and poor decisions, but looking back it was a time of learning and growth.

“We walk away from our dreams afraid we may fail, or worse yet, afraid we may succeed.” – Sean Connery, Finding Forrester

This is along the line of what several people told me when I was making my decision on whether to left my professional career for graduate school. It was quite an epiphany but one that got me on the right track finally.

“Help me, I’m poor” – Annie, Bridesmaids

Going back to school for my Masters and leaving my position at UM-Flint, and moving to living on loans and savings has completely made me into a tight budgeting person, yet even though I budget, I feel the financial pinch often.

“Do, or do not. There is no “try” – Yoda, The Empire Strikes Back

No matter what I do, I do it wholeheartedly and to the best of my ability. I have high expectations and goals for myself, and sometimes its hard not being able to reach them. However, you can never say I didn’t try hard enough. I do try hard at the very least.

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” – Ferris, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

I try and live by this every day. I’m a fast paced person, but when it comes to enjoying life, I make sure I do. There’s been several times, especially within the last two years, when I’ve been jolted from my work and am forced to be reminded of this. Carpe Diem, live every day like your last.

“Ratatouille. It’s like a stew, right? Why do they call it that? If you’re gonna name a food, you should give it a name that sounds delicious. Ratatouille doesn’t sound delicious. It sounds like “rat” and “patootie.” Rat-patootie, which does not sound delicious.” – Ratatouille

This quote really has no major life changing comment behind it. Just more of an idea of how I can ramble but I always have good intentions.

“Some people can’t believe in themselves until someone else believes in them first.” – Good Will Hunting

Over the past few years, I have really come to embrace this and can relate to the truth in this. Believing in one’s self is the key to one’s happiness, and if I can be apart of that by believing in someone to help them believe in themselves then I want to do that.

“When the Lord closes a door, somewhere He opens a window.” – Maria, Sound of Music

I completely agree. If things are not meant to be then they are not meant to be. Either way, keep your head up and push on. I haven’t had as many doors closed in my face as some of my friends and family, but I’ve had my share and I always remember this line.

“Hey, look.’Esc-a-pay’. I wonder what that means? That’s funny, it’s spelled just like the word ‘escape’.” – Dora, Finding Nemo

So, sometimes it takes me a little longer to catch up with everyone, but I mean well all the time.  And when I do catch up I’ll probably run ahead a bit then stop to wait for everyone else which is why I get distracted and slow.

“Sometimes you have to be apart from people you love. But that doesn’t mean you love them any less. Sometimes, it even makes you love them more” – The Last Song

I am a Flint, Michigander through and through and love and miss all my friends and family I left behind last year to pursue my career. But because of several reasons, I left, and it’s made me a better person.

“Fine! Judge all you want to but, married a lesbian, left a man at the altar, fell in love with a gay ice dancer, threw a girl’s wooden leg in a fire, livin’ in a box!!” – Monica, Friends

Thank God for my friends and fraternity brothers. No matter how crazy they all can get (or be) I love them and they have been like my family. They are the spices of life that flavors my soup.

“The brave do not live forever but the cautious do not live at all.” – The Princess Diaries

So true. Take a chance. Take a chance with love, with work and with life. My philosophy for life: Don’t be afraid to live!

“Good Morning, oh in case I don’t see you, good afternoon, good evening and goodnight.” – Truman, The Truman Show

Not only one of my favorite quotes, but what better way to close out my first post.

Until next time!

Peace, Love and Pandas!

About bdproffer

I am currently the Assistant Manager for the University Activities Board at Michigan State University. After earning my B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, I entered the Student Affairs profession. After a few years in the field, I returned to school and earned my M.A. in Educational Leadership-Higher Education Student Affairs from Eastern Michigan University. In my spare time I blog about my thoughts and musings on current issues in higher education, student affairs, web 2.0, LGBT issues and general life inspirations and observations. I also volunteer for Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

